Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) is an independent Commonwealth statutory authority whose role is to enforce the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 and a range of additional legislation, promoting competition, fair trading and regulating national infrastructure for the benefit of all Australians. The ACCC has a Chair, two Deputy Chairs, and three Commissioners. Their appointment to the ACCC involves participation by the Commonwealth, and state and territory governments. The ACCC exercises its powers as a competition, consumer and regulatory agency in a transparent and accountable manner. The ACCC members are collectively referred to as the Commission and meet regularly, usually weekly, to make decisions on matters investigated by the ACCC. The meetings are usually chaired by the Chair and must include at least two of the full-time members. Matters considered at Commission include mergers, authorisations and notifications, whether to begin court proceedings, and decisions about access to infrastructure facilities.

2022 Awards

2021 Awards