Lina M. Khan is an American legal scholar and current chairperson of the Federal Trade Commission. While a student at Yale Law School, she became known for her work in antitrust and competition law in the United States. She was appointed by President Joe Biden to the Commission in March 2021 and has served since June 2021. She is also an associate professor of law at Columbia Law School. She researches and writes on antitrust law and competition policy. She is particularly interested in how new technologies and business models are challenging current doctrinal assumptions, and in how modifying the institutional structure of antitrust enforcement could enable substantive rules to keep pace with evolving market realities. Khan’s scholarship has been published by or is forthcoming in the Columbia Law Review, the Harvard Law Review, and the Yale Law Journal. Her piece “Amazon’s Antitrust Paradox” was awarded the 2018 Antitrust Writing Award for “Best Academic Unilateral Conduct Article,” the Yale Law School’s Israel H. Peres Prize, and the Yale Law Journal’s Michael Egger Prize. Her work was described by the New York Times as having “reframed decades of monopoly law," and Politico has called her “a leader of a new school of antitrust thought.” Her scholarship has also been discussed in the Atlantic, Bloomberg, the Economist, Financial Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post, and she was recently named to the Politico 50, a list of thinkers whose ideas are driving politics. Khan previously served as a Legal Fellow for Commissioner Rohit Chopra at the Federal Trade Commission and as Director of Legal Policy at the Open Markets Institute. From 2015-2017 Khan litigated on behalf of homeowners through Yale’s Mortgage Foreclosure Litigation Clinic. She received a B.A. magna cum laude from Williams College and a J.D. from Yale Law School.

2020 Awards


Winner, 2020 Antitrust Writing Awards: Academic Awards, General Antitrust

Nominee, 2020 Antitrust Writing Awards: Academic, Unilateral Conduct

Nominee, 2019 Antitrust Writing Awards: Business, General Antitrust

Nominee, 2019 Antitrust Writing Awards: Academic, General Antitrust

Winner, 2018 Antitrust Writing Awards: Academic, Unilateral Conduct

Send a message